Members countries & Pilot basins

Regional initiative started between UNESCO Tehran, New Delhi and National Institute of Hydrology (NIH), India. Global meeting for Arid zone modeling was held during March 2005, where the regional network was formally launched. Currently, 13 countries are involved in this process coordinated by CAREERI.

Member countries

Asian G-WADI includes the following members:

asian gwadi nations flags
Member country flags
  • Afghanistan
  • China
  • India
  • Iran
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Mongolia
  • Pakistan
  • Thailand
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam

Pilot basins

Guidelines for preparing proposals for Asian G-WADI pilot basin(s).

  • Heihe River Basin (HRB), China, P.R. (Proposal)
  • Jaisamand Lake Catchment (Gomti River Basin), India
  • Granite watershed in Krishna-Godavari basin, India
  • Kashafrud Basin/Mashhad, Iran
  • Taleghan-Hashtgerd Basin, Iran
  • Chu river basin, Kyrgyz Republic
  • Vakhsh River Basin (VRB), Tajikistan